Behind My Eyelids: Entry II

Posted: January 29, 2013 in Behind My Eyelids, Short Stories
Tags: , , , , ,

January 29, 2013.

The police arrived at my house today because of a noise complaint. The neighbors heard me screaming as if my life were in danger. And I truly believe it was! I awoke to a woman sprawled naked on my ceiling. Her arms and legs were spread open wide, almost to the point of contortion. She stared down at me with an enormous smile on her face. They are always smiling. I gasped and covered my eyes. All I could hear was the sound of her smile broadening wider and wider. The worst part is that covering my eyes only helps temporarily. Just as she came back into view, she fell dramatically and very quickly from the ceiling. She stopped in mid air with her face just inches from mine. Her dark red hair fell onto my face. Her smile opened and I could see her black tongue and smell her sour breath. I was paralyzed with fear. Her limbs began to shake violently as if she were a rag doll. Her arms and legs looked extra long as she flailed, her head bobbing back and forth, smiling the whole time. All I could hear was her quick gasps of breath as she shook. Her body rocked so vehemently that I could hear her bones breaking and teeth cracking. I screamed until I fainted. I’m starting to question if these figures are merely figments of my imagination. Her matted hair, her sallow skin, her warm breath…it was all so real…

Leave a comment